Information on the current provisions from the ordinance to protect against new coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 infections with regard to incoming and returning travellers (Coronavirus Incoming Travel Ordinance CoronaEinrVO) from 21 June 2020, in the version applicable as of 22 June 2020

Who is obligated to undergo home quarantine upon entering the country?

The federal and state governments have agreed that incoming travellers from risk areas must undergo 14-day quarantine at home.

Which countries are considered risk areas?

The risk areas are defined by the federal government and published by the Robert Koch Institute (RKI). This is calculated on the basis of case numbers and an evaluation of the respective infection and testing rates. An overview of the current risk areas can be found on the RKI website:

https://www.rki.de/DE/Content/InfAZ/N/Neuartiges_Coronavirus/Risikogebiete_neu.html

Who is exempt from the quarantine regulation?

Quarantine exemptions apply to certain groups of people, such as those travelling due to urgent business matters. Furthermore, submission of a negative coronavirus test that is no older than 48 hours upon arrival can be exempt from quarantine. The regulation also no longer applies to persons who are travelling through North Rhine-Westphalia.

Note: The aforementioned explanations are not legally binding. This is located in the version of the Coronavirus Incoming Travel Ordinance from 22 June 2020. It can be found online at: https://www.land.nrw/sites/default/files/asset/document/2020-06-21_fassung_coronaeinrvo_ab_22.06.2020.pdf